My First Craft Fair

I just finished my first CRAFT FAIR! It was a daunting undertaking. If it hadn’t been for a friend of mine who also wanted to try her hand at one I would have thought about this idea for at least another year or two before taking action. Lucky for me, she asked if I would like to partner up for a first attempt. Boy, was it a lot of work to prepare for the fair. It felt like I sewed forever trying to get enough product ready, because everything I read said too much is better than not enough. I was very prepared. We planned our tent, how we would set up and how we would divide the space, half for her and half for me. 20150806_192227
My eldest son built the stands (he did such a great job, and he totally understands my crazy ramblings) that the owls would hang from; they would sit behind the tables which would display the pillows and stuffed animals. We also determined how to use those stands to the best advantage, or so I thought at the time.20150807_161903
I think it might not have been the best use of space, but I guess I won’t know until I try another fair. I purchased the tent and bags (to put all those wonderful sold items in). I brought water and snacks and sports drinks, duct tape, a hammer, zip ties, wire and wire cutters, scissors, clothes pins, pens, paper and of course a Square (for all those credit card purchases)!
:) I was so ready!

20150808_085115

When the day came we set up and the crowds descended. The square was very useful and so was the apron. By midday my friend had sold about half of her inventory and I had sold……nothing. That’s right, with our hopping booth I sold nothing so I tried discounting everything. Even then I only sold 5 items and didn’t even make enough to break even. It was disheartening. I didn’t talk about it for a week. My husband and kids and I just pretended it hadn’t happened. After a week or so we started talking about it in small bits, trying to figure out what went wrong for us. In my next post I will talk about what we learned, not that the list will be complete till we can have a successful fair.
That said, I am really grateful for this experience. I would have had to build my courage slowly to participate in a fair, but because my friend is brave and throws caution to the wind, I benefited from her daring. I know now what it takes to have a booth and I know that I can do this( with my family’s help)!

 

Do you participate in craft fairs and the like? What are your thoughts on them?

About noblebird

I love to learn and create new things. I am a wife and mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My First Craft Fair

  1. Oh how disappointing after all your effort. Craft fairs can be like that though for no apparent reason. I do think it makes a big difference where your stall is in relation to the entrance of the venue. Better luck next time.

    • noblebird says:

      Thanks for the thought about location, we were in the back because it was our first time at this fair. I talk to some other “veteran” crafters at the same fair and they said that it was a bad day for them also. It is possible that it was just an off day for everyone, except my friend who almost sold out! :)

  2. Melinda says:

    I’m sorry it wasn’t a more successful experience for you. Your owls are adorable!!
    I have taken part in fairs before, a couple of times as a vendor and once as a crafter. I organized a Christmas last year in my then small hometown. Maybe to get started in fairs you should find local fairs where you can rent a table for a small fee. Its less investment. Just a thought :)
    Don’t give up :)

Leave a Reply

